[Skip to content]

Football Foundation
Football Foundation
Cheshire FA's 2016 Awards Evening has taken place with over 35 awards presented to deserving grassroots heroes

Cheshire FA's 2016 Awards Evening has taken place with over 35 awards presented to deserving grassroots heroes

Date published: 20 June 2016

Press release


Friday 3 June 2016 saw Cheshire FA's fourth annual awards evening take place which celebrated the

hard work, dedication and perseverance of volunteers in football throughout the county.

The evening was hosted by principle sponsors of the event, Carden Park Hotel and compared by broadcaster Garry Richardson, with both Cheshire FA and FA Awards presented.

Honoured guests included Antoinette Sandbach, MP for Eddisbury who presented the Cheshire FA Social Media and Technology award.

New awards were introduced for 2016, including recognition for coaches, administrators and welfare officers.

For the first time at a Cheshire FA Awards Evening the winners and runners-up of the Cheshire FA Awards were announced on the evening.

The new awards complemented the presentation of the FA Groundsman of the Year, FA McDonald's Community and FA 50 Years Service awards.

There was also a surprise for two of the FA McDonald's Community Awards county winners (Lindsay Carrington, Upton JFC - Volunteer of the Year and Cheshire Football League - Charter Standard League of the Year) who were announced as North-West regional winners in their award categories.

As part of Cheshire FA's support of charity Ciaran's Cause, a charity auction was also held with prizes given courtesy of compare Garry Richardson which alongside kind donations raised £1,500.

Overall the event proved to be a success and Cheshire FA Chief Executive Simon Gerrard was delighted, noting how important it is to recognise the hard work of volunteers.

"We were proud to have the opportunity to say thank you to those people who make a difference to football in their local community and who dedicate their time to developing tomorrow's young talent.

"It was great to reward such a variety of winners, all having shown best practice in areas we believe are going to have a key impact on grassroots football in the coming years."

Award Recipients at 2016 Cheshire FA Awards Evening

FA McDonald’s Community Awards, County Winners

People's Choice Award (Outstanding Contribution to Community Football) - Brian McGuiness
The FA Charter Standard Community Club Award - Egerton FC
The FA Charter Standard Development Club Award - Ashville Youth FC
The FA Charter Standard Club Award - Marple Athletic JFC
The FA Charter Standard League Award - Cheshire Football League
       - North-West Regional Award Winner
The FA Volunteer of the Year Award - Lindsay Carrington (Upton JFC Chester)
       - North-West Regional Award Winner
The FA Young Volunteer of the Year Award - Craig Hitchmough (Frodsham JFC)

FA Groundsman of the Year 2016 at Step 7 and Below

County Winner - Freddie Brickland (Upton AA FC)
County Runner-Up - Brian Deeley (Knutsford FC)
County Third Place - David Oates (Styal FC)

Cheshire FA Awards

Cheshire FA Facility of the Year

WINNER - Sandbach Community Football Centre
Runner-Up - Alexandra Soccer Centre
Runner-Up - Cheshire FA Football Centre

Cheshire FA Administrator of the Year

WINNER- Ian McGuinness (Cheshire U21 County Football League)
Runner-Up - Andy Gorman (Timperley Villa Youth FC)
Runner-Up - Fiona Whitfield (Upton JFC Chester)

Cheshire FA Welfare Officer of the Year

WINNER - Sheila Saddington (Timperley and District Junior Football League)
Runner-Up - Amanda Mitchell (Appleton Boys Juniors FC)
Runner-Up - Linda Young (Halton and District Junior Football League)

Cheshire FA Coach of the Year

WINNER - Rob Thornhill (Timperley FC)
Runner-Up - Adam Browne (Ashville Youth FC)
Runner-Up - Rachel Lever (Chester and District Girls FC)

Cheshire FA Development Programme of the Year

WINNER - Cheshire Walking Football Group
Runner-Up - Altrincham FC Community Sports
Runner-Up - Frodsham Women's Recreational Session

Cheshire FA Social Media & Technology Award

WINNER - 1874 Northwich
Runner-Up - Egerton FC
Runner-Up - Runcorn Linnets JFC

Cheshire FA Referee of the Year

WINNER - Barry Rowson
Runner-Up - Lea Taylor
Runner-Up - Robert Johnson

Cheshire FA Respect and Fair Play Award

WINNER - Timperley Villa Youth FC
Runner-Up - Frodsham Juniors FC
Runner-Up - Marple Athletic JFC

FA Long Service (50 Years) Award Recipients

Brian Deeley
Mel Pomfret

- ENDS - 

For further information please contact:
Cheshire FA Marketing & Communications Officer, Tom Fairhurst on 01606 871166 or at press@cheshirefa.com

or Cheshire FA Marketing Support Officer, Helen Dobson at Helen.Dobson@cheshirefa.com

Notes to editors:

About Cheshire FA
Supporting football since 1878.

The Cheshire Football Association is the not-for-profit governing body for all Football in Cheshire, and is responsible for the governance, organisation, education and development of football within Cheshire.

Cheshire FA works in conjunction with the National Football Association and is an enterprising and dynamic SME based in the heart of the County.

We currently have approximately 3500 teams playing various formats of affiliated football with over 60,000 weekly participants. The game is supported by over 1,000 referees and upwards of 10,000 volunteers running the game.

Cheshire FA works towards a strategic framework which looks to inwardly invest into key aspects of the game. Over £24 million pounds has been invested into facilities supporting the local football infrastructure and over £4 million pounds into revenue projects.

Ciaran’s Cause is a charity partner of Cheshire FA . They work together to raise funds to supply football clubs with defibrillators and free awareness training of Cardiac Arrest.

For more information, contact press@cheshirefa.com

Share this story